In order to be certified, a prospective patient must meet these qualifications:
- Be a Maine resident (information for New Hampshire patients at bottom of this page)
- Possess a Maine driver's license or state photo identification card
- Have no drug-related felonies on record in the past 10 years
- Have one of the qualifying medical conditions or symptoms from the list below
- Pain (though patients must demonstrate that the pain is currently ongoing, has lasted for more than 6 months, and has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures)
- Severe nausea
- Severe muscle spasms
- Wasting syndromes (severe weight loss, also known as cachexia)
- Inflammatory bowel disease (such as Crohn's or ulcerative colitis)
- HIV or AIDS
- Hepatitis C
- ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease)
- Alzheimer's disease
- Nail patella syndrome (a rare birth defect)
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- We currently do not certify minors, though are willing to consider cases on an exceptional basis (e.g., end-stage cancer). In addition to all the requirements above, the state has very strict requirements for minor certification, including independent evaluation by two physicians and a notarized affidavit signed by both parents.
- Except for PTSD, Maine law currently does not consider other mental conditions sufficient for qualification.
- Specifically, depression, anxiety, and insomnia are not qualifying conditions in Maine.
Once certified, the physician provides the patient with a state-issued form, printed on medical tamper-proof paper and signed by the physician. This form certifies that the patient is legally allowed to use marijuana for medical purposes for up to one year (after which the form must be renewed by the physician).
Patients with certification for medical marijuana are legally allowed to grow up to six plants for their own use or purchase marijuana from one of eight assigned state dispensaries or a combination of these two. (Patients may also opt to have a caregiver grow plants for them, but this option requires further registration of the caregiver with the state.) Further, patients are allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana at a time. They must present the certification to law enforcement (with a valid state ID) if requested.
We handle the physician's certification process, providing qualified patients with a one-year state certificate, counselling, education, and other resources to permit legal medical marijuana use for patients who would benefit from it.
<Go to Appointments>